Organized by: GI Fachausschuss 3.2 / ITG Fachausschuss 6.5, Messung, Modellierung und Bewertung von Rechensystemen, MMB

March 31 - April 2, 2008, Dortmund, Germany


Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday

Monday, March 31, 2008

from 10.00

Registration at Rudolf-Chaudoire-Pavillon

12.00 - 12.30

Opening Session

Chair: Peter Buchholz (TU Dortmund)
12.30 - 13.30

Invited Talk 1

Chair: Peter Buchholz (TU Dortmund)
13.30 - 14.30

Session Network Calculus

Chair: Boudewijn Haverkort (University of Twente)
  • Jens B. Schmitt, Frank A. Zdarsky, Ivan Martinovic (University of Kaiserslautern):
    Improving Performance Bounds in Feed-Forward Networks by Paying Multiplexing Only Once
  • Kishore Angrishi, Ulrich Killat (Hamburg University of Technology):
    Analysis of a Real-Time Network using Statistical Network Calculus with Effective Bandwidth and Effective Capacity
14.30 - 15.00

Coffee Break at Rudolf-Chaudoire-Pavillon

15.00 - 16.30

Session Networks 1

Chair: Peter Reichl (Forschungszentrum Telekommunikation, Wien)
  • Joachim Fabini (Institute of Broadband Communications, TU Wien), Peter Reichl (Telecommunications Research Center Vienna), Alexander Poropatich (Alcatel-Lucent Austria AG):
    Measurement-Based Modeling of NGN Access Networks from an Application Perspective
  • Johannes Zapotoczky, Katinka Wolter (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin):
    Increasing Performance of the 802.11e Protocol through Access Category Shifting
  • Michael Menth, Frank Lehrieder (University of Würzburg):
    Comparison of Marking Algorithms for PCN-Based Admission Control
16.30 - 17.00

Session Tools 1

Chair: Udo Krieger (University of Bamberg)
  • Andreas Lewandowski, Ralf Burda, Christian Wietfeld (TU Dortmund):
    Eine Multiskalen Simulationsarchitektur zur Leistungsbewertung von hochzuverlässigen Mobilfunknetzen
  • Nicos Gollan, Frank A. Zdarsky, Ivan Martinovic, Jens B. Schmitt (TU Kaiserslautern):
    The DISCO Network Calculator
  • Milen Tilev, Bruno Müller-Clostermann (University of Duisburg-Essen):
    CapSys 2.0 - Visual Capacity Planning for IBM Mainframe Systems
18.00 - 20.00

Welcome Reception at Rudolf-Chaudoire-Pavillon

Tuesday, April 1, 2008

09.00 - 10.30

Session Modelling Techniques

Chair: Max Walter (TU München)
  • Jasen Markovski, Nikola Trcka (Eindhoven University of Technology):
    Aggregation Methods for Markov Reward Chains with Fast and Silent Transitions
  • Patrick Wüchner (University of Passau), János Sztrik (University of Debrecen), Hermann de Meer (University of Passau):
    Homogeneous Finite-Source Retrial Queues with Search of Customers from the Orbit
  • Holger Hermanns, Sven Johr (Universität des Saarlandes):
    May we reach it? Or must we? In what time? With what probability?
10.30 - 11.00

Coffee Break at Rudolf-Chaudoire-Pavillon

11.00 - 12.30

Session Case Studies

Chair: Michael Menth (University of Würzburg)
  • Markus Schmid (Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences), Jan Schaefer (Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences), Reinhold Kroeger (Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences), Ralf Heidger (DFS GmbH), Kai Engels (DFS GmbH), Morris Milekovic (DFS GmbH), Marcus Thoss (tang-IT Consulting GmbH):
    Performance Evaluation of the Distributed Radar Tracking System PHOENIX: a Case Study
  • Ulrich Klehmet, Thomas Herpel, Kai-Steffen Hielscher, Reinhard German (University of Erlangen-Nürnberg):
    Delay Bounds for CAN Communication in Automotive Applications
  • Barbara Staehle, Andreas Binzenhöfer, Daniel Schlosser (University of Würzburg), Björn Boder (DATEV eG):
    Quantifying the Influence of Network Conditions on the Service Quality Experienced by a Thin Client User
12.30 - 14.00

Lunch Break

14.00 - 14.30

Workshop Modelling of Large Logistics Networks

  • Invited Talk
14.00 - 15.30


14.30 - 15.30

Workshop Modelling of Large Logistics Networks

  • Session 1
15.30 - 16.00

Coffee Break at Rudolf-Chaudoire-Pavillon

16.00 - 17.30

Workshop Modelling of Large Logistics Networks

  • Session 2
16.00 - 17.30


from 18.00

Conference Dinner at DASA

Wednesday, April 2, 2008

09.00 - 10.00

Invited Talk 2

Chair: Christoph Lindemann (University of Leipzig)
10.00 - 10.30

PhD Awards

10.30 - 11.00

Coffee Break at Rudolf-Chaudoire-Pavillon

11.00 - 12.30

Session Analytical and Numerical Methods

Chair: Hans Daduna (University of Hamburg)
  • Johann Schuster, Markus Siegle (Universität der Bundeswehr München):
    A symbolic multilevel method with sparse submatrix representation for memory-speed-tradeoff
  • Reza Pulungan, Holger Hermanns (Saarland University):
    The Minimal Representation of the Maximum of Erlang Distributions
  • Hans Daduna, Marten Holst (University of Hamburg):
    Customer Oriented Performance Measures for Packet Transmission in a Ring Network with Blocking
12.30 - 14.00

Lunch Break

14.00 - 15.30

Session Networks 2

Chair: Jens Schmitt (TU Kaiserslautern)
  • Joern Ploennigs (Dresden University of Technology), Mario Neugebauer (ubigrate), Klaus Kabitzsch (Dresden University of Technology):
    Control Network Performance Engineering
  • Wint Yi Poe, Jens B. Schmitt (University of Kaiserslautern):
    Placing Multiple Sinks in Time-Sensitive Wireless Sensor Networks using a Genetic Algorithm
  • Gerhard Haßlinger (T-Systems Darmstadt), Oliver Hohlfeld (Darmstadt University of Technology):
    The Gilbert-Elliott Model for Packet Loss in Real Time Services on the Internet
15.30 - 16.00

Coffee Break at Rudolf-Chaudoire-Pavillon

16.00 - 16.30

Session Tools 2

Chair: Katinka Wolter (HU Berlin)
  • Markus Schmid (Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences), Thorsten Stein (Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences), Marcus Thoss (tang-IT Consulting GmbH), Reinhold Kroeger (Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences):
    An Eclipse IDE Extension for Pattern-based Software Instrumentation
  • Jan Kriege, Sebastian Vastag (TU Dortmund):
    ProC/B goes OMNeT++: Efficient Simulation of Process Chains
  • Markus Fischer (IDS Scheer AG):
    ARIS Process Performance Manager
16.30 - 17.00

Best Paper Award and Closing Session

Chair: Peter Buchholz (TU Dortmund)